My Sister's Hero

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Re-posting this little poem I wrote recently that I won a contest with. I was so happy about that. Since this poem, I have posted the story behind the poem. There has been a lot of interest in the story and also in the other poem that was written by my father back in 1995. You can read all 3 parts of our story on my blog. My father's poem is on there too.

--

There are many definitions
of what a hero could be
And from my sister's description
that hero could be me

You see my sister needed a kidney
back in nineteen ninety-five
And if it wasn't for me donating
she wouldn't be alive

I really don't feel like a hero
it's just something I had to do
But I do get a warm sensation
when she tells me, "I love you"

--

Poetry.jpg

Sort:  

lovely poem

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @johnwjr7 to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04