My 60th Birthday

in #poetry6 years ago

Today, 18 Jan, actually is my birthday. That is why I wrote this poem. It is not a very exciting birthday, but I am still alive. I could definitely live more, but I'm still kicking.

THE Texan in the Philippines.jpg

I sit alone as my life slips away.
Today it is my sixtieth birthday.
You would think, with rapidly passing years,
I’d want to be more active, as death nears.
--
There's no party, no elaborate feast.
There are no plans at all, not in the least.
Maybe I will take some pictures downtown.
Just talk with some people and walk around.
--
If I had the money, I’d take a cruise.
But to get that money, I’d need a muse.
Maybe I will just wait to have some fun.
Hopefully before I turn sixty-one.

Sort:  

today is your birthday, have some fun
today's your special day, be a man
the day is not over, open the rum
drink all day,till you turn sixty-one

haahahhahahaha, amazed by your poems, 3 days from now and my birthday will also come 😁
Happy birthday to us, cheers 🍺🍺🍺

Yes. I hope you do have a wonderful birthday. Mine was boring, but I guess I could have done more. I didn't even drink a beer today. It's cool though, I'll drink an extra one tomorrow.

I think I will spend my birthday in-front of the computer making my thesis project in school

So your birthday will be just as exciting as mine.

hahahaha yeah :D

Congratulation!!! happy Birthday, I wish you longlife and prosperity

happy happy birthday to you @johnwjr7 , that's one great poem, i love how you put the story and your feeling on it 👍👏❤️❤️❤️

Thanks. Too bad the feeling had to be bored. Someday, hopefully this life, I will be able to take a nice little trip and not have to worry about money the whole time I'm gone. Actually I'm hoping Steem will be what gets me to that point.

yes just have faith, nothing's impossible dear, just pray always 🙏❤️❤️❤️

Cool poem dude.. great!

Cool? Thanks. It is boring today and it should have been more exciting. I'll make up for it later.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @johnwjr7 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Hey bud, HAPPY BIRTHDAY!! Cool poem and great honesty. I'm 34 and already finding out age's isolating effect. Regardless, keep faith, and believe a new well-lit path may be just around the corner. God bless!

I'm going to continue hanging in there. Maybe I will have my 102nd birthday like the lady in the picture. I hope not to lose my teeth though.

You are making a great article I wish I could become as successful as you and get a voice for me

Well you have to do more than just 'wish', you have to do the original content and curate honestly. Your reputation is low, so you must have been doing the wrong things.

congratulation

Congratulations? On making it to 60 years old? I hope to be around for another 60, but that's highly improbable. Maybe my next life will be better.

Wow.. Cool.. Happy Birthday Sir @johnwjr7

Thank you. It was a pretty uneventful day, unfortunately. I guess, since I'm retired, I can celebrate any day that I want to anyway.

you still look young damn man

Well that picture is a few years old, but I do still feel like a young damn man.

still few mean ... just few years .. but still you are young huh sir respect

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14