Your Mystery

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)





I’ve taken nothing
From the past
But a few photographs,
A couple of old streets
I revisit,
And some powdery ghosts
That arise
From books
I’ve discarded
Upon my shelves.


Occasionally
I pick up a tome
And peer within
At yellowed pages,
Notes from lectures
And scribbled
Phone numbers
And addresses...
Some not my own.

But yesterday
I found
A paperback
You owned
When we were
First married.
(I taught uptown
And you worked
Downtown)
and never thought
how my literary friends
might intimidate you
or how you felt…

I picked up
A cheap paperback—
30 Days to a Better Vocabulary,
and I remember
the shame I felt
that we made you insecure
and it still stung
when I opened the pages
now brittle with age.

But I couldn’t throw it out—
It was part of you and me
And a reminder
Of your mystery
And my despair
When folded among
The pages
I found a stray strand
Of your red hair.



© 2017, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo

Sort:  

Straight to the heart. This made me a bit sad, but to me it also spoke of growth and understanding. Beautiful.

Job well done. You drew me in and kept me to the end. I felt sadden for the wife who was misunderstood or underappreciated. Again, job well done John.

Nostalgic piece of romance and loss. Beautifully written John.

The pages I found a stray strand Of your red hair.
Wow! The ending!! Loved it. That was a beautifully written poem, thanks for sharing. :)

For a minute there I was sad and to think that the past actually really haunts especially when you find out what you did wrong. Good job @johnjgeddes.

Very romantic, poetry, let nostalgia about the past

John, you are a polymath of poetry.

You really got me with this one, not only with the content, but also its contrast with the radically different style of "From The Paint Box."

I enjoy your virtuosity.

😄😇😄

@creatr

thanks, @creatr - I appreciate your feedback :)

This post has received a 16.27 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

Great post

interesante post me encanta

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70887.21
ETH 3581.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75