You By My Side

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)



sylvias-house_8x10.jpg



All the jewels of the night
Are mine;
I could give you
An icy stone


But a fire
Set high in the sky,
Will always bring
You home.

All the winds
That sing in the trees
Make a waterfall
Of leaves,

But the trees
That shelter our house
Are more precious
Than anything else.

Nothing’s more rare
To my eyes
Than our flickering
Northern lights,

But far more precious
Than these
Is you by my side
Asleep



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

But far more precious
Than these
Is you by my side
Asleep

So cute, beyond words.

Thank you for sharing, John.

I have nothing to do with poetry, just stumbled over this post and boy is it good!!!!

To hear the depth of love expressed in the restful word... asleep. Simple and beautiful. Rest well. Peace

You are welcome.

This very beautiful post.. i like it thanks for sharing.. i within for your next post..

😊 it doesn't matter what he gives her or vice versa, all that matters is to him/her is when he/she is close to his/her lover!

Reminds me of Paul Simon's "For Emily."

😄😇😄

@creatr

thanks, @creatr - lovely :)

Excellent poem ..I always see your post ..Waiting your update post.

This post has received a 1.84 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @johnjgeddes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64998.89
ETH 3514.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37