Wordless

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)



sad-girl-1382940_1920.jpg



There is a quiet
In my arms
Where you can hide
From every harm


Or the silence
Of my eyes
Where we can meet
Without surprise

A knowing glance
A subtle touch
Simple gestures
Mean so much

I've not spoken
One word to you
But your tears have broken
My heart in two



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

Short, sweet and beautiful!

thank you, @kus-knee - I am touched that people can see the beauty in simplicity

Well, the wordless one here is me hahah!

What a beautiful way to write, simple yet so full of meaning. I always find myself trying to use exotic images and flowery language to express myself, when sometimes, the best way to do it is by being straightforward and let the creativity flow. Just like you did here!

I'm an aspiring poet and I find encouragement in wonderful artists like you. Thank you so much for posting.

thanks, @hayleeng - it's taken me a lifetime to write as a child...but there are skeptics in poetry as in art - those who wonder why Chagall can't draw people, lol. I appreciate your encouragement.

I've not spoken
One word to you
But your tears have broken
My heart in two

MY GOD THIS IS BEAUTIFUL WHY ON EARTH IS THIS SO BEAUTIFUL LIKE OH MY SWEET LORD HOW IS THIS SO VERY VERY BEAUTIFUL.

thank you, @flashfiction for your exuberant response - much appreciated :)

The power of words not spoken are louder, clearer and stronger than our utterances sometimes. Tears are among the most powerful of them. I like your stuff because I THINK I understand them. If not, I appreciate them. That is a truth I know.

That's how I feel when I see a painting I like. I may not be able to put my response into words but it touches me

She just needs to be held. As always, beautifully said, John.

thanks, lydon - you're right - sometimes only a hug helps

on reflection, I realize you meant something deeper. I hold her in my heart.

@johnjgeddes. Like always, I found in your poem some special images, "a subtle touch- mean so much" So beautiful the complete poem.
Have a nice day

Eyes are everything. Love, love, anger, happiness ... @johnjgeddes

I'm glad you like it :)

Beautiful, Unspoken ,Trust!

thanks, @awgbibb

Really awesome ...Wow .
What a poem. .
I like this so much. Thats the great on..
It is this poem which is wordless..
Carry on properly.
Thanks for sharing

You are most welcome @johnjgeddes
If you like my blog click on upvote button.

Amazing poem.Thanks for sharing with us

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61672.72
ETH 2996.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78