Winter Silence

in #poetry6 years ago



simon-matzinger-552341-unsplash.jpg



When birds have fled
Except for sparrows,
And leaves are gone…
Winter silence settles down


In the woods
There’s not a a sound
But silvery filaments
In silence profound

I miss the noise and color
Of spring and summer
As winter lingers
With plaintive dolor

The glassy tinkle of icicles
The hiss of wind in the cold…
But also the familiar crunch
Of boots heading home.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

I can hear and feel, the silence, the tinkling, the crunch. And I love the direction; homeward, always homeward.

😄😇😄

@creatr

so true, my friend :)

Muy buen poema,@johnjgeddes, especialmente esas dos últimas estrofas. Hay sonidos. olores y colores particulares del invierno. No solo es el frío en la piel, es el frío en la mirada. Te felicito.

Muchas gracias, Nancy

Really nice - captures that static feeling of wintry woodland well. I'm particularly fond of the last two lines which bring figurative and literal closure to the poem. Chill melting towards a kind of warmth.

Love that last image -Thanks, @lazarus-wist

Nothing like the sound of boots on the snow.! I know when I run in the winter on the snow I love the clear, fresh, cold air, pure silence except for the crunch of the shoe and breathing. You brought it to life! Great write!

Thanks so much- appreciate that :)

In silence profound

There is an eerie stillness in the wintry woods - can be good thinking space too.

I agree - Gordon Lightfoot wrote, it's too silent to be real

@johnjgeddes . Hi! Congratulations for your beautiful poem, its perfect rhyme, with heart.
Have a nice evenig

Superb seasonal write, John. Bravo:)

thanks, Pryde

I really like this poem ... and when I read this poem and see the picture as if I were in the picture and I heard the feel of it again the melodious chirping of birds thanks johnjgeddes

You got a 3.21% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @johnjgeddes!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

I love the winter season. Might be because I have never experienced and just saw it in pictures. Hehe!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59435.06
ETH 2521.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42