Who Will Care for Me?

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)




After I’m gone
Who will care
For the chipmunks and birds,


Or talk back to crows,
Make sure the tree’s watered?


Oh, I know
I have my faults,
I conflict
With everyone…


But the poor creatures
Of the earth
Have no one,

And if not for me
Who would feed them?


I care for trees
And animals
And all their tiny spawn


But will you care for me
After I’m gone?



© 2017, John J Geddes. All rights reserved


Photo

Sort:  

I really like your poem. It gets you to think about life and the time after our being here on Earth and not knowing what will happen tomorrow.

But isn't the whole point of not knowing? Because if we would know definitely what and when will something happen and who will miss us or not, then we wouldn't have time to enjoy our life right here and now. We would be preocupied with a thought about future.

So my advice is just live and enjoy every day as much as you can! And keep on writing, 'cause you are good at it.

thanks, @emmamia I agree with your advice and appreciate your encouragement :)

Hi @johnjgeddes, Love the way you build such solid imagery with simple phrasing:-) Liked your happy birthday post, I both empathized with and have experienced much of what you wrote, and hope in about a year from now I can look back and see I have does as well in the Steemit community as you have. keep Creating:-)

thank you so much, @presentminded -I suppose the key is posting every day and writing meaningful comments on posts such as your response to mine. I appreciate that

Es muy refexivo.nos invita a pensar

thank you, @glosario - that is a real compliment - 'invites us to think'

@johnjgeddes Its very interesting info.. Terrific post keep it up.

to peace, i find God all around me

all that is surrounds me, nothing needs done

serene, surrendered, i rest in stillness...

and all is well.

namaste

This post has received a 15.48 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

You got my vote and a resteem :)

thank you, Kate

Thank you so much for sharing all this information! that's great! All the best! Waiting for more posts! :)

Lovely piece of art. Suits the poem perfectly. I really like this particular poem. It speaks to me...

thank you, @cecicastor, I'm glad :)

It does not matter to me who cares for me after I am gone. It is inconsequential . But as long as I live, I care for all, specially the innocent and the honest. Like animals, plants and children. :) ... Nice verse

a good response, @nehab. Thank you

Thank you , @johnjgeddes. Happy that it resonates with you 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66094.73
ETH 3446.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66