Weathering

in #poetry7 years ago



pexels-photo-69667.jpeg



A black rain
Drumming on the window;
An icy wind
Rattling the pane


I lie awake
Comforted
By distant thunder,
Its soft grumbling
Countless miles away

And I think
Of all the sodden fields
About us,
Tiny animals
Safely hidden away

And I pray for them
And us too
That we endure through
Another night
Until the day

And the Lord above
In loving kindness
Protect
The blue-lit eaves
Where sparrows stay

Photo

Sort:  

I love when the weather gets colder, so I can bundle up in the blankets. This is definitely a great reminder though of all the animals that live outside and must endure it alone.

It's constantly on my mind

Honestly, I never really thought about it until right now. I wonder if it's their adaptation to the climate or abilities to burrow underground, or even the thick layer of fat that some have, which naturally keeps them warm during hibernation months.

I know it's amazing they survive especially here in Canada where winters can be frigid

Your figure of speeches are awesome, expecially your metaphors.
You rhyme quite good and your use of words are heavenly.
The beauty embedded in each line is awesome. Good poem here.❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤
im a poet too

thank you, Jose - I appreciate that

I love this poem, John. It somehow speaks to me.

I'm glad, Ceci - it comes from my heart

That is what makes you a good writer, John. It comes from your heart.

The last three lines are my favorites. A really sweet poem.

thank you, Jayna

great poem !!!excellent my friend!!!

Keep on praying, brother.
You, me, the creatures...
We're all waiting for this:

"For we know that the whole creation has been groaning together in the pains of childbirth until now. And not only the creation, but we ourselves, who have the firstfruits of the Spirit, groan inwardly as we wait eagerly for adoption as sons, the redemption of our bodies. For in this hope we were saved. Now hope that is seen is not hope. For who hopes for what he sees? But if we hope for what we do not see, we wait for it with patience."
- Romans 8:22-25

Your poem is a beautiful reminder to me of that...

Also this:

Have you ever heard it?

thanks, @creatr for the encouragement - the song was lovely

:) :) :) Glad you liked it. ;)

I find comfort in a distant thunder as well. What a compassionate and graceful poem. Beautiful. :)

thank you, Tina ...I'm drawn to elementals and whatever's vulnerable

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 12. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.33 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 12 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

This post has received a 13.35 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59185.23
ETH 2319.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46