Walking in the Woods

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)



pexels-photo-589819.jpg



Walking in the woods
I’m found.
I was searching for you
Not the other way around.


You understand me
And wrap me
In distance
And silence.

That’s all I want
From anyone
Who cares enough
To ask me.

Just leave spaces
Between us
Clearings
Open sky,

Don’t crowd me
With human habitations
Lofty
Expectations,

For Then,
I’ll disappoint you
And make
You cry.

But trust me
To be faithful
As the woods
To the sky.



© 2017, John J Geddes. All rights reserved


Photo

Sort:  

Another great one, John. Not sure what you intended, but speaks to me as a trail runner and hiker, especially second stanza.

thanks, @dabeckter - I can see why - my son is a runner and does a lot of rainforest running in B.C's coastal mountains

B.C. is a dream destination for me someday!

Profound. I especially was drawn to the first two stanzas, but it's beautiful in its entirety. :)

it has a dual narration to the reader and woods - wasn't sure if that would work or simply be inscrutable, lol

To me the effect was both clever and evocative. I loved it.

Hi @johnjgeddes i like the brief feets in each of your stanzas it makes the poem precise and sharp. Thank you for writing

that's exactly the idea - very astute observation,@josediccus

Yeah i use these kind of feets in my poems too. Have a lovely day

I love this.

I'm a fierce introvert, and a runner, if for no other reason than I get an hour's quiet, with nothing but the road before me.

I don't want to be alone, but I want to be left alone. It's a big and subtle difference, and makes all the difference in the world.

Well done.

Walking in the woods
I'm found

I'm undone.....that achy poignant feeling rises in the back of my throat...tears threaten.
Beautiful John.

Poignant :)

Awesome , I love it.
Great job dear .

Amazing poem as usual @johnjgeddes !
It is really a pleasure and an honor to read your poetry, evokes in me a lot of emotions!

Thank You!

Very interesting
I am proud to see your work.
I am sure, someday you will find the bright titit, and according to your expectations.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63207.55
ETH 2571.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82