waiting for the rain to end

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)





Today I feel older
closer to the fall,

closer to the freezing
at night outside my window.

A girl walks by in rain
pauses and seems to look inside--

then walks up to the verandah
and steps into my life.

I stand breathless as she stops
and then turns back to face the street...

young girl, aloof, oblivious
merely waiting for the rain to end.



Sort:  

Terrific! I follow you!

I really enjoy your Gift , Thank You.

so kind...thank you, awgbibb

Caressing and comforting loneliness. I just really feel like that.
Is it true or my delirium?

no, loneliness can be beautiful

Forgive me then, and I do agree with you about loneliness, and I think, there will always be a vast space to loneliness for those who are sensitive and delicate, and their feelings are the mirror. Thanks for the enlightenment.

you have a very sensitive spirit - I don't know if anyone ever told you that, but you do--and that can't be taught. It's a gift

and, perhaps, it's also suffering. 🙂 But, thanks to a good notice from you. I appreciate that.

you're right - suffering too :)

John, I find it personally very frustrating when I observe that your posts, as a whole, seem not to be receiving the love that I feel they deserve! :0

Calling all whales and curators... LOOK HERE! Please? I want to have John around for a LONG time so I can keep reading!

BTW, I found (and bought!) your book on Amazon: Epiphany

... and I look forward to adding to the excellent reader reviews there after I have finished reading it... ;)

thank you for the shout out, creatr - it worked, The post made money. Thank you!

sWEEEt!!! ;) :)

I am truly humbled creatr - I think you'll have a heart-warming read for Christmas - so much autobiographical there - Thanks for reminding me - I should tweet it on Twitter - I always forget about the commercial side

BTW, John...

I have a "Cousin-In-Law" who is a prolific writer of all sorts of things, but mostly what I might term "pulp fiction." Good reads, enjoyable, but maybe not super-literary? I mention her to you mainly because she has cracked "the commercial side" of writing in a rather spectacular fashion.

Observing her from a distance, I'd say it was a "long, hard road" for her to succeed in that way, but her hard work has definitely paid off. She writes and "indie publishes" her work (and the work of others as well, I believe...)

Does she have a web site I could check out? I'm not very good on the commercial side of things :)

ha ha...I'm also not very good on the technical side of things. I clicked on your blue letter link and was taken to her site. Thanks creatr - I'll take my time browsing it :)

Actually, she does have another website... The "blue link" I gave you previously is her Amazon presence. Here's her "personal presence" website:

http://pamelafaganhutchins.com

You can download at least one of her novels for free from Amazon, but (if you want to attempt "indie publishing") you might have more fun at one of her workshops, or just reading her blog or checking her Facebook pages... She seems to have found a lot of good tools for promoting her books. ;)

thanks creatr - I read the Amazon Inside Look into her Indie publishing guide and it's full of all kinds of useful info

BTW, we're always going to be friends - that's just the way it is

Friend, if you're ever headed toward Southern Cali - please contact me in advance? I'd love to buy you lunch, or dinner, or a beer, or coffee... and have a little "face time." ;)

I have a friend in northern Cali, @HP_Oliver ( Twitter ) He's been asking me to visit but I think he just wants to meet my Muse Cat . I'm not really much of a traveller, I'm afraid. For example, today my wife's in B. C. and I'm pet sitting here. But I like the idea of someday meeting face to face, in this life, at least LOL!!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 01. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.35 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 01 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25