Wait a Little While

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)



ben-white-199953.jpg



I’ve made some changes,
Some great, some small.


If the way I love you
Seems different...

Wait a little while.

In time I’m turning
To what I’ll become,

The other side of changing
Is turn around and run

I’ve made some changes,
Some great, some small.

If the way I love you
Seems different...

Wait a little while.



© 2017, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

The story of our lives--change. Yes that is it--change. The only truth I know, if any I truly know, is that; all these things we encounter on our way to our destination is simply a place along the way. Love. Love lost. The way we change our outlook and that we change our outlook is perhaps one of the few constants in life.

On my second read, I asked myself, what wound is @johnjgeddes trying to excavate? Is @johnjgeddes trying to excavate a wound? Maybe yes, maybe no. What I do know, however, is this require a third and perhaps a fourth read. WOW. WOW and WOW again.

a very thoughtful response, Nicholas - Yes, all poetry is personal - as cummings said, when you write poetry you're nobody but yourself

Cummings who? I am not certain if I have ever read him/her. Send me a link please.

Change is the only thing we can depend on in life. We should be changing ourselves, and everything around us will be changing too. Wait. Things will change. Friends will still be friends no matter how many things change however. Some things never change. My defense of individual liberty will never change for example.

a thoughtful response, @finnian - I appreciate your point of view :)

You are a master of your craft, and I thank you for sharing your creations.

Change! Sometimes it just happens, sometimes we have to work at it, sometimes we actively resist it, sometimes, hopefully often, we simply surrender and invite it. You jogged a memory, I hope you stop in and read it later today or soonly. Best.

another great writing. Very interesting, To me it comes in two parts, The way you have always loved but now as time changes so doe our love in a sense. I think it grows stronger

I agree - good point

The other side of changing
Is turn around and run

You can also be running away by denying change.

There is no better proof of love than be willing to change because of your special one, and accept the responsability to know that he / she will be willing to change, too, because of you.

Thank you for sharing.

excellent points, @flashfiction. I agree

I find this a very calming and soothing poem, almost as if it were a lullaby. Nice to read something like it, tis a nice break compared to what I've been enjoying recently.

The words remind me of a song by Cliff Richards

If I said I loved you
What would you say?
If I said I needed you
Would it frighten you away?
If I said I loved you
And I wanted you to be
My one and only lover
Eternally.

Not the same, but the feel. Your poem could be put to similar style of music.

I see what you mean - I know that song and yes it could be interpreted in that style :)

This is so lovely. The style of this poem is very short and succinct, it really brings your message across and I appreciate the topic of change and love. I think that people are constantly evolving and that within a relationship, it is important to recognise this. What an interesting and new perspective. :)

Love this. Love writings that I can relate to.
And I see myself in this one, a work in progress.💗

Hi John
Change is the spice of life. Some changes we made ourselves and some occur spontaneously without our effort. Any way change is the spice of life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97