Two of Us

in #poetry6 years ago



fall.jpg



Driving this morning
On an icy highway,


Thinking of us,
Our struggles and pain,

Grieves in me a song
More dismal

Than the sparrow's protest
To the freezing rain.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

Wow this painting is looking HD

Short but beautiful poem, @johnjgeddes! The weather outside and inside the car is perceived icy, uncertain. The lyrical voice tells us of a thought that accompanies, but also worries, weighs. In moments of loneliness, when one is able to find oneself, we can fill our hands with memories, with questions. We see how in the last verses, the lyrical speaker is compared to that sparrow saddened by time, perhaps because he knows that some thorns stuck in the soul, come to make the heart and body cold! I don't know why, writing this commentary to you, I remembered the Nightingale and the Rose of Wilde. Nice night.

Thanks Nancy - the iciness is a chill in a relationship and the sparrows symbols of helplessness. There is nothing worse than driving alone with unresolved tension - the further you go away, the deeper the gulf seems to get

Beautiful art. Nice poetry.

I am not a die-hard poetry fan, but I liked this poem. Hey I just was thinking of @countrygirl. We miss her on her. I haven't seen her in ages. Wonder if you would be so kind as to tell her she is missed and we hope to see her posting again someday...

That's the kind of reaction I actually appreciate because it tells me that the poem was real and touched you in some way.Also, I will relay your kind words to Deb - she's taking a break from the site but I too hope to see her posting on here again sometime. I can tell you she's taken some beautiful photos lately - only appreciated by an audience of one unfortunately - namely me, lol. I'm sure she'll be touched by your asking after her

Very beautiful art ,,poetry is nice sir,,,great

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67443.33
ETH 3253.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66