The Simple Life

in #poetry6 years ago



1024px-Thoreaus_quote_near_his_cabin_site,_Walden_Pond.jpg



I think I could turn and live with animals,
they are so placid and self-contain’d

—Walt Whitman



I love you but have
No more tears
And no false friends
To waste them on.


When I’m out walking
Crows meet and follow.
They don’t judge me
But let me belong.

I’ve come to know
Animals and birds
And in the woods
Feel at home.

Spend an hour
In silence there
And they accept me
As their own.

In the human zoo
It’s a different story—
Few are humble,
Most out for glory.

I watch them tend
Their cars and houses,
And measure friends
By jobs and spouses.

But I’ve learned
To live simply…
Take care of my home,
Not keep up with the Jones



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

I love thoreau, he was brilliant and so is this piece of writing :)

Peace

thanks for the encouragement - love Thoreau too :)

I love the wilderness, but could never sleep in a tent. Too many animals surrounding me makes me paranoid. :P

ha ha, actually, I feel the same way - a trailer or RV feels more secure

Amen. There is nothing like the wilderness. Beautiful poem. Speaks volumes! Thank you,

thank you! I love being in nature especially on days like the one we had today in the Toronto region - temp in the low 50's and sunny skies. Could have walked forever :)

Nyce write ... John. I know what you mean about the crows. Even here in the city. They are so smart and once they get used to seeing you will actually greet you every time you pass by. Most don't notice or perhaps I notice too much:)

Some of them 'adopt' me and will follow me home - I love them and their ways

I am singing to the choir then:)

Entiendo cada uno de los versos de este poema, @johnjgeddes y los suscribo. Es el hombre un animal más peligrosos que los propios animales. Vivir en la ciudad es cuando podemos decir que vivimos enjaulados y temerosos. El hombre es un peligro para su propia especie. Vivimos pensando que nos sacaran los ojos, nos aruñan el corazón, no entierran el veneno. Gracias por compartir.

Gracias por su respuesta!

😃😃😊

Hey @martin2....I notice you voted your own comment but not the writer. Not a cool practice.

Great setting for Thoreau quote

Life is an adventure..

it's really nice to live with nature and animals surrounding you. there sounds felt like music to the air.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59035.93
ETH 2519.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47