Some Rainy Day

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)



rainy seson.jpg



A familiar scent
Of perfume
In the room


Unoccupied
Vacant…
Not even a plant
Relieves
The gloom

A little tea shoppe
In a narrow
Back lane...
A jangling bell
Gave me away

And a Presence
Asks
If there is
Some mistake,

Some reason, or whim
Why I ventured in

And of course
There isn’t…

I didn’t intend
To come today
But found myself
Escaping rain—

That’s all,
It’s perfectly plain…
no other reason
than fall
and rainy season…

And a memory
I can’t escape,
And a part of me
I can’t evade

...

Well, it’s haunting me
And I hope you’re glad;
You got back
Some of yours at last

And I’m wondering
If you ever strayed
Off the beaten path
As I did today,
And I wonder
What you'd say…

That the weather gods
Held sway?

You were borne
On the wind
Like swirling leaves
And ended here

Not looking for me.

Really?

Or perhaps
you were hoping
Fate in its way
Might bring us together
Some rainy day.



© 2017, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo

Sort:  

There is no better song for love (present, remembered or wished upon) than rain.

Great entry. Thank you very much for sharing.

so poetic. Thank you for your comment

I hope to be able to write poetry so well some day. It is harder to do than I figured it would be.

well,I think it's a matter of finding your own voice...that comes from a lot of writing and struggling :)

I'm finding that out. I'm looking for my own little poetry niche and that little voice that tells me that I'm there.

Good one 👏 lovely connection special indeed. be well @johnjgeddes

This post has received a 9.33 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 05. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $23.74 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 05 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Unintended or unplanned ventures are inevitable in life. Sometimes they result in good tidings, sometimes sadness and other times, they are no more than that; ventures; empty and meaningless. May ours always result in good tidings. Great poetry. I certainly look up to your writing.

Borne on the wind... I love the motion and emotion that this piece relayed to me. Great work, John. :)

more of a narrative element in this one - a dramatic monologue? Perhaps :)

Woah! Love this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80