safe house

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)





There is no safe house,


No shelter from storms.


I used to think

I could hide in the attic

And all would be fine…


But I was wrong.


Lightning arcs and roars,

Blinds and deafens.


Droplets splatter like dark cherries

Against the panes.


It’s scary…

Impossible to shut out.


It would be easier

To stay in the basement—


And I would...


But I’ve grown accustomed

To the view from up here.



© 2017, John J Geddes. All rights reserved


https://goo.gl/images/SLw2cQ

Sort:  

Nice poem. It seems it is time not to hide!

thanks, @lakshmi ...yes, you can't hide

wow Very interesting . plz give me upvote

it is bad etiquette on steemit to solicit votes

yes, exactly. The same reason people stop and stare at accident scenes ... or go over their hurts a million times :)

How painful. :)

yes, it is, my friend.

Excellent poetry!

Congratulations @johnjgeddes! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hmmm, more like you're afraid of the midnight knock on the door.
Are we coming around to that again?
Joe

I hope not, Joe ...it's been on my mind

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99