Alone in the House

in #poetry7 years ago



ae843d67e50487fb3a92959a81e95144.jpg



Dusk
And shadows pass
Like a cat
Upon the stairs


You stifle
A small laugh
And say there’s
Nothing there

Dark recesses
And alcoves
Harbor
Troubling thoughts

While outside
November rains
Thrum
Like ticking clocks

It’s hard to say
What prompts these thoughts
Perhaps the rain
Or wintry draughts

Or perhaps the answer's
Something else—
Fear of being
By myself



© 2017, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

@johnjgeddes... The work of a true poet is always refreshing, striking deep intp one's soul... Beautiful imagery, melodic rhymes. I will sure follow you on this space.

thank you, @tdee - so kind

My pleasure ☺☺

You hit a spot I am very familiar with johngeddes, nice write. Best.

thank you

I like how the poem is both simple and full of meaning!

This post has received a 1.26 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

I enjoyed your poem It's very nice to me, thank you so much for sharing with us

The painting and the poem, you're very good @johnjgeddes! 😊

You're most welcome!

I have a love/hate relationship with the dark recesses and alcoves of my mind. I don't know who I would be without them.

Me too! Deb just told me you posted - I better get over there and have a look :)

very nice and great poem. that's mind-blowing writing.

most welcome, you are so kind and great.

This post has received a 3.83 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @johnjgeddes

AHH the warmth of art

ha ha, thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56560.74
ETH 2390.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34