Ruins

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)





But how else can we live, these days, except in the midst of ruin?
― Margaret Atwood



nothing lasts


Not trees or stars


Nothing remains
We call ours.


Summer writes farewell
On parchment scrolls


Then scatters to the wind
whatever's old


Friends may stray
Or turn to dust


And not return
To comfort us


So what remains
Of gold and red?


Only the ruins of what isn't dead.



© 2017, John J Geddes. All rights reserved


Photo

Sort:  

Nice poem, and the pick is so mysterious...
Thanks for posting!

Hey @silent.screamer all his poems are like that check out his blog I love these poems.

you're welcome. apparently there are some pretty cool ruins in Zimbabwe.

"Only the ruins of what isn't dead" Love that

Very nice! I like the poem! Wow that you wrote it! I will have to check out your other posts! :)

Beautifully expressed John Geddes. I like your poetry.

Love this, especially the pic. Looks like the ruins of Harrisville out in the New Gretna Pine Barrens of South Jersey. Spent many a spooky night exploring there.

Interesting what did you find? 😁 😆

Just lots of old, crumbling buildings :)

Yeah makes sense! 😀 😃 😄

I loved the pic because of the trees growing up through the ruins - it reminds me of The Old Mill ruins just outside of Toronto

HAAA! Just followed the credit and it is Jersey, lol. Though not the particular ruins I was thinking of, lol.

Awesome poetry as ever @johnjgeddes. :)) Loved all of those lines ^^

This reminds me of that Leonard Cohen song about there being a crack in everything. Thanks so much for this. I hope you have a WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL day!!! 😄 😁 😆 resteeming and linkedining.:-) and facebooking.

thanks, @pjcswart - I appreciate the support. Yes, I love Leonard's quote too :)

Leonard had an interesting and strange life I believe.

yes - a poet-priest, as his name, Cohen suggests :)

Is that what Cohen means?

Lovely poetry. The photo just adds to your post. Nice work.

thanks, @cecicastor The photo reminds me of an Old Mill near my parents' house. Something romantic and tragic about ruins

Storming once again. Such lovely imagery... the summer scattering to the wind whatever's old. Love it :)

I seem to have an affinity for stormy weather:)

Storms are amazing! I love checking out your stuff for its simplicity. My stuff is very twisty wordy. Fun tho :)

ha ha...It's taken me me a lifetime to become simple. Who'd have thought?

Well i never thought i would end up finding writing so fascinating! Only started because i couldnt walk! I learn new stuff everyday and i love it. We are very lucky :)

I love poetry. Beautiful and deep work. I also wrote poetry. But now the inspiration comes to me. But I have a photo of the place, imbued with the energy of past eras. Come take a look if you have free time.
https://steemit.com/culturevulture/@anna-mi/culturevulture-slavic-village-of-the-10th-century

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81