Remnants

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)



black_susan_flower_full.jpg



These are the ruins
I mapped onto my body so I might always be lost.

― Traci Brimhall



The black-eyed Susan
Lost its bloom...


Only one dark iris
Remains of June.

It stands forlorn
bereft of petals,

I lift it to my lips
And kiss the stubble.


It seems dramatic
This gesturing

Perhaps a pledge
Of faith in spring;

But I hope when I
Have lost my sparkle

You'll still see yourself
In these dark scribbles.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

As always, a beautiful poem closes the night, @johnjgeddes! With the passage of time, in the world and in us, only traces remain. Intact, complete and without cracks we will never be again. As an incomplete flower abandoned on the way, so are we! Shedding daily, seeking to immortalize the beauty of spring in us. Beautiful night.

Thank you, Nancy. you are right - as time goes by we become sacred ruins - as Marty Rubin writes, “Ruins are the cathedrals of Time.”

By distance you and I are away by other half of our glove. I have started the morning with your poem. Got good vibes

Hoping for more such posts @johnjgeddes . I am very new to this art of penning down the feelings .Hope I will get tips from you in future
Thnx

Thank you. I noticed you didn't vote. I usually don't even respond to those who don't vote, but since you asked for advice, here it is: ex nihilo, nihil fit. I know your reputation is low and you just began, but start out right - always vote for a post you support, and you may get support in return

As you see I am new to steemit joined just 1day ago. Thank you so much @johnjgeddes

Wow beautiful poem....!

Beautiful word nice dear

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow nice post

Black eyed Susan’s are a staple of where I grew up so this poem spoke to me. Well written, snaps!

~ Mako

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85