Relics

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)



John-Smethwick-hand.jpg



I saw them
In the bloom of youth
Blazing stars
Above the roof


Tiny suns
In outer space
Far away
And faint with age

Many of the stars
Have died
Yet their light still shines
As days gone by

Like the simple words
Of this little poem
That still will shine
When I am gone



© 2017, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

Loosing someone is never easy watching these “stars” fade away but the way we hold them in our heart that can never be taken from us!

that is beautiful - thank you

Like the simple words
Of this little poem
That still will shine
When I am gone

Sometimes, i just got no words. Because there is really nothing else to add. The message is clear, the words are adequate, the technique is top notch.

This poem is perfect as it is. Absolutely perfect. I LOVE it.

Thank you for sharing it.

thanks, @flashfiction - I appreciate that

My Mother passed in this House where I am staying now, My Dad in America, I still see things here that remind me of them , everyday.
Thank You for these Words!

Thanks, @awgbibb - I'm also surrounded by mementoes of my parents - they prompt me to think of them and occasionally shed a tear

I loved your poem, like the fainted stars' light it will shine for me

Hi john.. Your 1st post i read is nice.. Poem is simple but nice.. The shot of old book you shared above is about what?

wonderful poem dear
like it
@johnjgeddes

This post has received a 3.55 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

This post has received a 3.81 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @johnjgeddes

Beautiful poetry dear it's great work .

Sad when stars die.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67203.60
ETH 3513.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20