rarefied: a primer on how to become a ghost

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)



pexels-photo.jpg



It begins slowly
With isolation


A silent phone
An empty house

No need to get up
No need to go out.


Spaces widen
As between stars

And seasons switch
In Doppler effect

From blue shift
To desolate red.


I no longer need
To sublimate

Only to accept
My state

Comings and goings
Relative motion

No destination
In a vacuum.


Eventually
Gravity weakens

What joins us
Non existent…

I’m rarefied
Empty of life

A smudge of light
in an endless night.



© 2017, John J Geddes. All rights reserved


Photo

Sort:  

That picture is perfect for the imagery you speak of. :)

Ah, so you understand the Physics :)

I read this three times. Maybe it has to do with my current state of mind and a bit of grief, but I truly feel your words as I read them. Outstanding piece, John.

Yeah, I thought it would speak to you too, after I wrote it - it's a difficult one because of the allusions - the red shift referring to people drifting far away etc.

To be honest, that's what spoke to me most.... always inspired by your take on life, John. :)

This post has received a 22.37 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

That's what happens when your heart is empty - you float away, nothing to ground you.

That's the heart of the poem - what I meant by sublimate - you go from a solid to a gas

great work.the words are sweet to read

Great Post.

Very great poem. Very beautiful starts.....it begins slowly...

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Oct 30. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $29.08 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Oct 30 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Nice poetry with nice pic and words

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56688.84
ETH 2388.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28