My Own Silence

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)





The silence depressed me. It wasn't the silence of silence.
It was my own silence.

― Sylvia Plath



I’ve lived with silence—


I know it well.


I know the quiet creaking

Of my parent’s house,


The sudden hush

Before a downpour of rain…


The absence of a friend

Who won’t return again.


I know the dark silence

Of your eyes


The midnight watches

Of regrets and whispers.


I’m not afraid to be alone

With ghosts or lightning…


It’s my own silence

I find frightening.



© 2017, John J Geddes. All rights reserved


Photo

Sort:  

That personal silence is a tough contender. Reading your work is therapy for me right now lol. Seriously wonderful piece :)

Thanks, Tina. I guess it's tragic then. Tragedy is cathartic :)

Akin to hearing just the right piece of music that matches the mood. Your writing is outstanding, soothing and yes, sometimes therapeutic. I'm working my way back to my old, goofy self. :)

I'm glad, Tina. Thank you.

I want to know why you own this silence?

Silence is the language of wisdom.

This post has received a 4.07 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

interesting thought, thanks for this! One's own silence could be a result of trauma, of not wanting to feel. And thanks for connecting on here. I hope you have a WONDERFUL day!! 😝 😛

It's ironic how deafening silence could be. :) Very well done. This poem is simply amazing! ^^

I wish I could say something extremely intelligent or profound but all I have is this is beautiful - for one or other reason it feels like I can relate and it touches my soul

thanks, @anneke. I'm not sure I can explain it :)

Wow!! "I know the dark silence of your eyes" and "Its my own silence I find frightening" ,,,,Very profoundly moving..Thank you. This is very well expressed. Just found your blog page. I love your work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81