meteor shower

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)



Out on the lawn,

Flat on our backs,

Hoping to see


A falling star’s track.


The stars of our youth

So far, so high,

Rain down upon us

With scarcely a sigh.


And all our hopes

And burning bright dreams,

Fall out of heaven

By God’s stern decree.


The stars you fashioned

For each child you bore

Are fallen as well

And hanging no more.


So what have we learned

From heaven’s bright scene?

...The brightest of diamonds

Are but pieces of dreams.



Inspired by the Perseid Meteorite shower



© 2017, John J Geddes. All rights reserved


https://goo.gl/images/UAVK3u

Sort:  

Very nice, I really enjoyed that! I want to say more but it seems if I do it might change something or cause someone a wayward thought that might cause them to miss what was in this poem just for them. I will definitely follow and try to keep up with your work on here.

thanks, @deaconlee...a very sensitive and intuitive response. Much appreciated.

John, beautiful as always. <3

Thank you, Harry

What a beautiful poem! I've been looking around steemit for compositions like this as I am also a self-proclaimed poet and have not found something I could personally applaud until now. We need more modern day poets like you! Good job @johngeddes!

I was a self-proclaimed poet until I reached out to Raymond Souster, a Canadian Governor General's Award winner. He mentored me and offered to introduce me to Leonard Cohen, Irving Layton and others. So, just keep going perfecting your craft. BTW, you might like Leonard Cohen's poetry - give it a try :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56