Ley Lines

in #poetry6 years ago



Ley-lines-nodes.png



We met by Fate;


I can’t go back
And discover
The way,

It’d be easier
To retrace
My footsteps in rain.


This globe
Is mapped
By lines of Fate—

Not always visible,
Not always straight.

You want straight?

Try highways, roads
Or railway lines –

But walkers skirt
Ponds and moats
And so did I.


Avoiding water traps
I stayed dry,

Until I drowned
In the depths of your eyes.

So now I don't regret
The ways I choose

Since every wrong turn
Leads back to you.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

I truly love this poem! It truly speaks from the heart, lots of poems these days don’t have too much emotion. More often than not, emotion gives fuel to the fire in poetry. I adore the metaphorical structure and the way you cinched the ending. Beautifully done, wonderfully written.

Thank you for your thoughtful response

The paths of life are never straight, not even bifurcated, sometimes poets open their own routes, the good thing is to be able to arrive.

I agree - thanks :)

This post has received a 8.57 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

Very beautiful

Posted using Partiko Android

Very nice, John.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59538.61
ETH 2658.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45