Incomplete

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)



Kendra+Runnels+Shelter+from+the+Storm+143%2F500+25.jpg



I want to sleep
But don't want to
Put out candles
Or close the window
To the smell
Of rain...


Just lie
In the lightning's flare
And watch
Streets glow
Where I go
In dreams

And perhaps this time
Or in some other life
We'll meet

Everything will finally
Make sense…

The storms, the ghosts
The long separations

Every thing will feel complete,

And I will finally sleep.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo

Sort:  

I was realized that after a love is lost, we hold onto the grief because we cannot hold onto the one we love. You poem is lovely and full of feeling. I felt it. Beautiful.

thank you, @prydefoltz, for a very thoughtful response

I love rainy nights with the windows open and the sounds and air coming in... And yes, somehow they do revive deep feelings that have never (yet) been satisfied...

Lovely, thanks.

😄😇😄

@creatr

thanks, creatr - the land of unfulfilled desires is vast and lonely :)

One thing I recall C. S. Lewis remarking on is that the very existence of desires that we can't quite identify, longings we can't quite fulfill, is a sort of evidence of the Divine. Only, he said it much better than that... ;)

losing a love is something that makes us feel incomplete, and the rain full of melancholy always brings us back to the past! good post

thanks, @delvalle1 - you really connected with the poem

Amazing poem. The words really pulled at my heart. A lost love is always so confusing and sad. I have been broken by past loves, that's for sure. :(

thanks for your response

Whoever it is, I hope you find them John.

thanks, lydon

Exquisite expression...... great soliloquy..... just a good work... thank you

Great poem..Thanks dear.sharing this poem.

Wow.Very nice writing. Your poetry is really samble of love and mirror effect of life.I appreciate that and thank you for such a skill

thanks for your response

nice post sir. I like it very much :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59207.83
ETH 2464.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43