If Not For You

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)





In masks outrageous and austere
The years go by in single file

—Elinor Wylie



Late at night
When the house is quiet
I hear heat
In the registers;


Outside, it’s the dead of winter
And inside I’m listening to Wagner

A barren wind
Whistles between the houses

And the hours click
Upon the abacus.


They say nothing is ever lost—
Only misplaced

But that doesn’t explain us
Or this rabbit hole of years that

Makes me want to go back
And do it all over again

But this time, do it right…
And, of course, I can’t.


In the picture album of life
I hate all my poses

I see myself at twenty, at thirty, at forty
And wonder where it got me

An office, a promotion, and a title,
And damn all to show for it

But you, Love, were there through it all
And that's made it all worthwhile.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

Would you like to borrow my giant eraser?? It doesn't work, but you can borrow it and pretend. I'm kind of finished with it anyhow. :)

I'll take you up on that

I love this poem. Can I just say Wow! Just a perfect description of how we all feels as we look back but also acknowledging the things we achieved are so worth it. We are never at a better spot then where we are in this moment.

A very thoughtful reply, @seareader1 - Thank you

I think, or is it I believe (the lines do get blurry sometimes) Love that is genuine and permeates us through and through is always able to reframe and redeem us. Is it the security the “beloved” lends to us that allows us to look and be with the freedom to recognize what is and has been without the need to edit ourselves? I suspect, yes but then we human types are a complex lot...

I'm constantly self reproving, moving towards being authentic and it seems, always falling short - but you're right - the security of being loved allows us to go on trying. Complex? Try conflicted, lol

Too true :^0

Very nice! Thanks for sharing. I like the seasoned point of view.

thanks, @givonwayne - I suppose that's what time does if it doesn't corrode you :)

Beautiful writeup.. They say the best decisions are made in retrospect, looking back we tend to realise we could have lived differently, and done things differently.. This is bound to bring up feelings of regret.. But our solace lies in learning from the past mistakes and doing better in future endeavours.. I really hope we all learn and do better, so we can be better.. Thank you for sharing..

So true about perspective and wisdom...

But you, Love, were there through it all
And that's made it all worthwhile.

It still amazes me that love is not fully enjoyed till it is fully shared with another.

So many emotions and musings released when we have the opportunity to be nostalgic. These are precious times. Hard to come by.

so true - nostalgia alternates between melancholia and painting out shadows :)

That is a really beautiful poem about such a relatable sentiment. To look back at life as we grow and to wonder what we have achieved... What really? It's something I have found myself facing in my own life. But It's surprising how we can accept the hardships we wish we'd never known if we can find one important person, place or event that gave our life it's highlight; it's meaning :)

time that goes away does not come back

Thanks a lot for sharing your valuable post....
Carry on next
Best of luck..
I will still wait for your next post....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60192.33
ETH 2321.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50