I Would be Gentle

in #poetry7 years ago



pexels-photo-289225 (1).jpeg



I could be sterile
And write my words
In India ink,
black on white,
barren and bleak
as this chill November night.


I could be crisp
And whisper
With the dry rustle of leaves
Beneath the hard flame
Of stars
Welding the sky
To the trees.

But with you…
I’d be gentle
As the first kiss
Of snow
Wetting your eyelashes,
Covering you
With a soft moonlit glow.



© 2017, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo

Sort:  

I know you search diligently for pictures that compliment your writing - this one is uniquely suited for the beauty you’ve put on the page, John.

Yes, that I do, lydon...I'm not sure which came first this time, the poem or her. Wintry beauty :)

Wintry beauty, indeed. :)

Great imagery. It is good to see new material from you.

If I may ask, when you write, does it come, close to final form, or do you have to spend time perfecting each line, each word?

thank you, Arthur. Usually, it begins with a phrase and simply uncoils from there. Once I get the initial inspiration, it unfolds with a minimum of intervention - except to correct punctuation, and sometimes I just leave it raw.

I could be crisp
And whisper
With the dry rustle of leaves
Beneath the hard flame
Of stars
Welding the sky
To the trees

Your imageries in this verse appeals to the sense of touch and sound, i felt the rustling of the leaves also, your lines are very rich it has a touch of synaestasia, this is totally beautiful, i love it

This post has received a 14.75 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

Does it - that hard flame of the stars - weld our hopes and dreams to the sky as well, to that magnificent, mystical something that is out there, calling to us? Or, Is that flame burning in her eyes, her arms, her lips? Is that what welds all things, enough things, together? Perhaps so. And, I ask, not for an answer, but because inspired to do so by the elegance of your words.

that is a very poetic response - very impressive, @tdd

Nice poetry friend

Dang man you are really good with the poetry!! I like that poem great post!

Wow, you just got a new fan here! I want to see more poems like these!

Thank you for sharing this poem. The beauty of words reflects the beauty of the photo

Inspiring, touching and with imagery that shines. Lovely. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61178.84
ETH 2749.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45