I Give You Leaves

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)



I stopped giving you flowers.


It makes you sad
To see fragile things
With brief histories.

Perhaps it reminds you
Of us,
Our struggle and pain,

The beginnings
Of autumn,
Ruin and loss,
And the need
To re-build again.

So instead,
I give
A handful
Of leaves,
Scraps of words,
A harvest
Of dreams…

Take them
Wax them
And place them
In your book
Of memory

For we are the ruins
Of summer
Scattered
Upon the breeze

Colorful notes
Of mystery
Hidden
In the bitter
Seed of trees.



© 2017, John J Geddes. All rights reserved


Photo

Sort:  

Gorgeousness!

The last sands in the glass
the s from memories
a dried bit of tears
stained
crumbling
to dust
just like
flowers

very poetic, my friend :)

Thank you... I love responding in like, I could go on forever in that mode. ;)

a different thinking ..
a super Love poem..
Love it..
best wishes for you.

This is called spamming a link - namely yours. You're not responding to mine. Please stop doing this

When I was in college we had secret Santa. We had to give our person a gift every day for a week. So I gave my randomly selected person simple things from nature, like a rock, a leaf, a log, etc. She was pretty impressed! I hope you have a WONDERFUL day!!! 😀 😃 😄

thanks, @pjcswart - sounds like a wonderful girl

Funny thing is I can't remember who it was.

This post has received a 14.42 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

Wow! Lovely poem!

thanks, @cecicastor - I always enjoy hearing from you :)

This captures well some of my feelings about aging...

😄😇😄

@creatr

Ah, must have been purely subconscious for me, but I see it now :)

I like any poet-themed theme, if you can make it with a better masterpiece so that those who read understand the intent of the contents of the poem, do not forget to make friends, follow me, maybe we can share opinions

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63004.58
ETH 2548.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81