How I See You

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)



cherry-blossom-birds-cathy-jacobs.jpg



For @briancourteau who loves his wife, @lynncoyle1
and ravens.



I see you as a raven
In a cherry blossom tree


You are part of my spring.

I watch you build a nest
Drink, eat, and fly away

I don’t want you to leave.

I want to keep you forever
Safe in this tree,

But not hold you captive
Or stop the spring



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

well you did it now. lol. This is so thoughtful and beautiful. the problem is you brought my wife to tears. I will remember this for as long as I live. Thank you from both our hearts., may I copy this, never to use but to have

This poem is my gift to both of you to use however you desire - my wife felt the same and retweeted it - I just wanted to celebrate the two of you, my friend :)

Thank you so much. Is your wife country girl by chance. Again I am proud to say that you are a true gentleman and amazing person. Thanks again

I was happy to write it, Brian, and yes, @countrygirl is my wife :)

Love this poem. To be touched by two people who are friends and to also memorialize their love is a special thing. What a sweet and loving thing to do. <3<3<3

we are so grateful to John

I can imagine, having a friendship like yours is a special thing. Love is a great thing to witness and to be inspired from. Here's to a lifetime of happiness to you all. <3

thank you, @seareader - appreciate the kind words

Well John, the cat's out of the bag. Yes, @briancourteau is the love of my life, and will unfortunately (probably) be short-lived but I am beyond thankful for him in my life, as I am forever grateful for you, taking the time and the love to memorialize "us" in one of your poems! x0

you're very welcome, Lynne

Nice, this reminds me of a mother's love for her child. You always want your children to grow up, but you also want them to always come home.

But not hold you captive
Or stop the spring

Isn't this what love is about? Freedom to fly away, yet choosing to stay forever...

it is...thank you, @flashfiction :)

This is so beautiful. They're very lucky to have you as a friend. How do you keep someone forever without making them captive? I guess it would take a great love for someone to stay even when the other seasons come.

that is the question, @raquelita :)

Wow, @lynncoyle1 and @briancourteau are so lucky, you wrote a very beautiful poetry for them. :)
Sweet! ♥

thank you Leah. Yes we are lucky

I can see @briancourteau and @lynncoyle1 that you're both lucky to have each other! ♥

Well thank you so much @leahlei; I am so honoured and so humbled:)

You're very much welcome @lynncoyle1! I can see happiness in your relationship. ♥

a beautiful and interesting poem, hopefully the crows can feel at home in the cherry tree

This is beyond beautiful

thanks, Melinda :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56587.45
ETH 2991.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15