Faithful

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)



necklace-with-winged-heart-2900736_1920.jpg



Here is the wonder keeping the stars apart
i carry your heart(i carry it in my heart)

—eecummings



Nothing is ever perfect
Including us


I want to be perfect
But I’m not

I’m not sweating little things
Like a tap left on or off

But the big stuff that disappoints
And threatens our fragile love

I don’t take it for granted
How we've come through it all

Our struggles and pain are constant—
Nothing comes without a cost

But whenever you get sad or frantic
Thinking of things we’ve lost

Remember I’m still here beside you
Faithful, as always, my Love.



© 2017, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

I've always been of the opinion that nothing fuels poetry as much as love. Almost nothing. A loving relationship gives beautiful love poems. A bad one gives beautiful heartbreak poems.
This one is good...fuelled by love...again!

thank you, @pharouq66 - a very poetic response

My question though @johnjgeddes is, aren't these imperfections perfect in their own way? In the sense that they are apart of that adversity, which is a part of us and we use these things to guide ourselves and pretty much grow as individuals and by extension a collective?

you're right. The ending hints at an answer for the dilemma - staying and working things out - that is how we grow as a couple, not by our lack of struggles and quarrels but how we persist in working things out

This made me cry. So real, so important. Thank you for sharing this raw but well-worded poem of the heart.

thanks, Katrina

I like this poem so much. It´s light, flowing smoothly. And express a big truth: nothing comes without a cost.
A beautiful heart too.
Have a nice evening.

these things are embedded within the lines:
Fact
Decision
Flaw
fear
Gratitude
Love.
And a desire to stay true.
Nice piece@johnjgeddes.
So much in one.

interesting way of viewing the poem

Poems like these are akin to a glass ceiling. All the lights, the stars, and planets one can see through it. The emotions come like a flood and one gets lost for good.

First off, I am a collector of hearts and your photo drew me in...the heart you chose is very Lovely.
Second, I am enjoying your poems very much, thank you for sharing...I am very glad to have crossed your path :) <3

thanks, @cvmidwife - I'm glad both things drew you

I see a little bit of uncertainty with the love being potrayed, it's a wonderful poem with amazing imageries ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

Imagine up without down, wet without dry, light without dark. :)

This post has received a 2.36 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66548.53
ETH 3594.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91