Durie Street and Past Sorrows

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)



harry-rutherford-september-mottram.jpg



I go back to those same old streets
Where the ghosts that haunt others
Don’t haunt me


They see me and beckon
As a friend
‘Here’s the one that lived in the house at the end’

And a silence ensues
That’s almost reverent
For many a night here I marked the Moon

And watched them upon the hill
As they made their rounds
And entered houses without a sound

And I suppose I’d be watching still
If not for you
You wooed and won me and own me still

And all those poems about moonlit streets
And ghostly haunts and dark retreats
Molder like autumn leaves in a drawer

And I walk as guests of ghosts no more
And have no insights
Into their arts or lore

Though sometimes on these autumn nights
When the Moon is pale and chill
I see their shadows upon the hill

And part of me wanders still.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

It is a happy man who has left the shadows for the light of love.

now, that's a poetic way of putting it!

Having a love save you from memories of what was or could have been makes one fortunate indeed.

so true...thanks, Pryde

nicely done, your a good writer, stay cool

be well
@johnjgeddes

thanks, @krazypoet ...BTW, that's a cool new tag you're promoting #funkyedits

Awesome thanks yea its a fun one, glad you like it friend...

*be well

It's midnight over here, this poem made me want to cheer out loud. Exquisitely written. Part of me is still wondering how can someone be as talented as you are.

The least you could do is to spell my name right.

sorry, it's my poor typing skills - the D is right beside the S - my fingers slipped

John always in the night our soul wanders in the memories with the darkness. Only the dim light of the moon can bring us the joy of returning. Extraordinary poem Congratulations

thanks, Felix :)

You got a 1.50% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @johnjgeddes!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Much more hope-filled than your last poem! ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

Wow likes your post .. happy reading it .. really amazing ... thanks for sharing on a good day.
I like to read every post you .. I also learn a lot about steemit from every post you. Whether it's writing or photos. Thank you steemians ..
It's an honor for me if you visit my blog..

Very amazing @johnjgeddes
I like it

What a beautiful expression of love. Well done you very creative man.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49