Dreamer

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)



image.jpg



Our mind, being dead, wishes to have time die,
For we, being ghosts, cannot catch hold of things.

—Louis MacNeice



I remember when the wheel of sun
Ran its course overhead in June
And the stand of Maples sung
All night in the wind like a waterfall


And you were so lovely then
In your white dress
So lovely
You have scarred me ever since

And on those pale June evenings
We ate meals with tomato slices
Big enough to fill the plate
And went to bars and drank

We were young and stupid then
And I was liable to do anything
But you rescued me and saved me
And here I am…

Still a dreamer, unable to grasp
What I have and who I am.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

Simple diction, vivid imagery, deep meaning.
This is poetry!

Nice poetry
What i have and who i am.
Thought provoking line.

Love and the process of self discovery perhaps.

Yes, painful as it is :)

we are - we can't bear very much reality

This post has received a 2.73 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @johnjgeddes

You got a 1.38% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @johnjgeddes!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

This post has received a 2.45 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61423.30
ETH 3383.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54