Conditions on Saturn

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

1200px-Saturn_during_Equinox.jpg



Denial is not just a river in Egypt.
― James Patterson



You come from a country
Of perpetual darkness


At best, the sky is gray
And shadows line the day.

There is no light
So day and night don’t matter

But I say ‘day’ anyway
Though it can’t get blacker.

It’s hot as Mercury
And colder than Saturn

‘Welcome to The Pit’
You sigh,

‘But there is no hell’
I reply.

You simply nod
And then, grow taciturn.

‘Of course, you’re right,
Welcome to Saturn.’



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

Denial is not just a river in Egypt.

It took me a second and third reading of the poem to see why you chose that quote to accompany your writing. It is a perfect choice, John.

I admire your persistence - Deb was struggling to understand this one :)

I have dealing with someone who suffers from deep depression. There is no talking them out of it if they are not open to it. It is really hard when you have real affection for them. A very impactful write, John.

thanks, Pryde - you're right - you can't talk somebody out of depression because it's not simply an attitude

No ... from my own experience ... it was some very negative and self-hurt type thinking that became chronic. It took me a long time to come back. But I think I am actually better than I was before. But it did take a long time. Wishing you and yours only the best.

thank you, Pryde, for such a thoughtful and reflective response :)

It's like you put my thoughts in words, reading this felt like a perfect reflection of my mood the past few days! I really wish I could put my emotions as gracefully as you do!

thanks ...so kind :)

Amazing work of God.

The sixth and second largest of all planet, even nine times bigger than our home earth. If it supports man existence I wonder how much population it will hold.

Great write up from you.
Thanks for sharing and more knowledge to you,may you ink never dries.

thanks, Tomiwa

Simple. Just simply amazing. Maybe we should migrate to Saturn and have a demo living

Thanks, Harry

You're welcome

John today what I perceive is a state of deep melancholy without meaning or colors. Magnificent prose. Successes

thanks, Felix

very beautiful. your ideas that you put here are amazing. i wrote a valentines day poem. lol. you my friend intrigue me more each day

thanks, Brian :)

WoW..simply and wonderful words.although I am weak in English... But these words can be understood

It's nice @johnjgeddes

You got a 0.91% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @johnjgeddes!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Awesome poem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99