Come Back

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)



mansureh-hoseini-21.jpg



I see you
In stars
That shimmer
On the lake


Or from my window
When no one's awake…

Especially
At twilight
Your faint smile
Gleams,

Then later
In darkness
In my loneliest dreams.

Shy and uncertain
You hide
Behind curtains

And winter is worse
You seem so near—

On the horizon,
I touch
The hem
Of your garment.

...

You broke my heart
With icy tears

Borne on the wind
Down the years

I hear you
Each night
Calling to me

Beckoning across
A vast, dark sea

Don’t stay in the stars, Love,
Have mercy on me.



© 2017, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo

Sort:  

John I love this poem. Like your other works, they connect with me in very physical ways. I sit amongst the words.

I wrote a piece of music that has been inspired by this poem as well as a piece by Tchaikovsky. I hope you enjoy.

always enjoy your improvisations, Bucky :)

so true, my friend - you picked up on the imagery - I was trying to write from a courtly love perspective :)

What sadness a love is that's separated by time and space; and why dreams are often precious doorways to an alternate universe.

dreams are doorways - so true, mere :)

love live wound if not taken care of well and sometime it has a lasting effect that is hard to remove

Broke my heart with icy tears

This is a beautiful example of an imagery, im still catching up with how it makes mr feel. This is beautiful.

thanks, Jose

I liked. Very good. I write sometimes, I posted one a few minutes ago.
It's in Spanish, I hope you can read it.

Your post has been resteemed to my 2500 followers

Upvote this comment if you like this service

Wow good post ,

that is an awesome piece of poetry and its sober and soul searching. love the artwork at the begining

Full of yearning. A lovely piece, John :)

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 06. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $54.66 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 06 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83