Be Content

in #poetry6 years ago



69406a124eec1b59067faf2a58838e0d--cats-in-art-cat-art.jpg



Be content with what you have;
Rejoice in the way things are.
When you realize nothing is lacking,
The whole world belongs to you.

—Lao Tzu



All I need is rain
And coloured umbrellas


A tiny house
With a window
For a cat to look out

And in spring,
A haze of buds
To fill the air with bitter talk

And then life
Would be complete…

But it’s never enough.


My soul is cratered
Like the Moon

With so many holes
That need to be filled

And so we make children
Careers and dreams

And it takes a lifetime
To accomplish our schemes.


But the best thing, Love,
I ever knew

Was lying in bed
In love with you.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

Oh, so beautiful!
I just imagine the tiny house with the littler window :-3
Awww in the middle of the forest :-3
Very nice

good poem and excellent photo

a good poem that teaches us to be grateful for what we have ... do not feel deprived.

keep on working @johnjgeddes ... I started following you and waiting for the next poem

Ooooh I'm so much in love with the initial lines of your poem "be content with what you have".. Your post is nice..
I would love to follow you @johnjgeddes..

ha ha...start by voting for me :)

beautiful painting brother and nice poem...loved it

@johnjgeddes
Which "cat" you are indicating sir..?

Beautiful poem. I feel so much gratitude just by reading :)

True. sounds to me like a cat's poem...

Beatiful..I loved it. I fall in love with your poem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58927.54
ETH 2514.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48