Autumn Fire

in #poetry6 years ago



Autumn-Fire-Leaves-Turning-Red-Oil-Painting_art.jpg



This dry rain of leaves
Grieves my soul
Haunts me
With arpeggio notes.


Everything beautiful is sad,
Gilded with impermanence.

As wood into the furnace,
Is this yearly occurrence
That always leaves me wordless…

I’m afraid, so afraid,
This will be a winter too desolate
And without precedent,

That only memory
Can fill the emptiness.

Be my earth—be my sky
For someday we must die
And I want our dust to mingle,

But for now, Love,
Be the bed of sparks
I breathe upon and kindle.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

Climate and feeling in the same space, in the same body, @johnjgeddes. The reality is those leaves that fall and speak to us of the solitude of God and the beloved. In this poem we observe how there is prayer, fear, but also the certainty of a long absence. The feeling of sadness crouching waiting for winter to come to bite the heart. How sad and long some nights can be, poet. Hugs

Seasonal changes are opportunities for reflection, Nancy, and these transitions are the basis for the crucial mythos of literature - birth, youth, the journey, maturity, death. We need to isolate to comprehend the significant aspects of our lives and so another mythos that often surfaces in my work is the theme of loneliness. Fortunately, it's redemptive and can be beautiful

I love the nature personification. You use it perfectly to express the fear and desire for that one person to be involved. I can completely relate. But I also found out through experience, that if the ashes dont mingle, its still not the end. Like everything it has cycles. The winters cold will begin to warm and rebirth is evident all around. Its through these experiences our soul grows. Thank you for the wonderful words

Thank you for your insightful response - a poem is only the beginning - it continues on inside a reader and hopefully evokes a mature response such as yours

It does. I couldn't agree more. It's even more powerful she relatable. Then overpowering when it's something you feel like you are experiencing. So again thank you for sharing your insight. It has had an impact

Posted using Partiko Android

Beautiful poem! Cry the sky and cry the soul, how much nostalgia in these verses, there are long winters in life, but they can be endured if you have the warmth of true and sincere love. The last verses close with passion the moment of sadness. I enjoy his expression as a poet because I agree on many feelings expressed. Good evening, @johnjgeddes.

thank you for your response :)

This is made by colour or paper pieces ?

Posted using Partiko Android

oil using a palette knife

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59249.61
ETH 2526.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46