Alien Skies

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

mars-surface-1280x1024.jpg



The Moon stares at me
Above the trees


I could reach out
And touch his face,
Hold him
In a warm embrace,
As an old friend


But there’s too much
Between us,
Quarrels unresolved…
Times when I needed
A warm hug

And he was off hunting
In the Elysian bogs
With chaste Diana
And her baying dogs.

But I’m past
Needing him now.

It was foolish to think
I could draw comfort
From the skies
As much as to think
The rain’s tears were like mine

Nothing in this vast world
That’s inhuman
Holds me in thrall,
Save living things—
Birds, animals,
And trees
I can sense kinship with these

But rocks and earth,
Stars and moon
Merely fill me with their gloom


Mineral vowels
And desolate sights
Are only lovely to the eyes

I find no heart beating there
Save empty deserts vast and drear

And I’ve no longing to go there.



© 2017, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo

Sort:  

You and I must be yin and yang about this.

I think I'd like to go on some adventures with you, and take you on some with me.

I long to visit the place you show in your opening image, Mars... :D
I want to go spelunking in the lava tubes there, and see all there is to see.

But I have (only of late) come to believe that there may well be flora and fauna already populating some of the other unimaginably myriad planets in the universe... And so, I would gladly visit one of those with you, my friend. :D

😄😇😄

@creatr

I know what you mean, @creatr - we do exchange places quite a bit -and I did a yin and yang with Robert Frost working counterpoint to his view in Desert Places ie.

They cannot scare me with their empty spaces
Between stars on stars where no human race is.
I have it in me so much nearer home
To scare myself with my own desert places.

I found that frisson of looking at the Martian landscape to be inhuman - I'm much better at relating to animals and people. Hell, I even talk to my Christmas Cactus, and she's blooming again, right on time, just to please me :)

i liked your comment

Beautifully sad.
And very honest.

@johnjgeddes. Beautiful poetic images and metaphors. Wonderful poem.
Have a nice day

thank you, @mllg. I appreciate your comment

i liked this post sir because it s a great poetry....may be i reasteam you sir

Oao wonderful and just awesome poem.Your content be super bro.

This post has received a 7.58 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63030.98
ETH 2594.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74