A Moody Rain

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)





I live in Ireland every day in a drizzly dream of a Dublin walk.



There is something about a moody rain—


Not drumming or gusting,

Not thunder or lightning,


Just a gray mist

Clinging to everything…


Like a dull mood

A brown stare

Or a sad despair,


It’s dark inside

With lamps lit


And you curl up

In a corner of the couch

With blanket and book


And let the drizzly dreams of weather gods

Conspire with the fire

And lull you to sleep.



© 2017, John J Geddes. All rights reserved


Photo

Sort:  

I get what you mean. Sometimes the weather can leave you under the weather. Hehe. Love the painting, even if sourced from elsewhere. Aptly depicts the poem. "Drizzly dreams of weather gods". Great way of putting it. Has a little alliteration in there too ("drizzly" and "dreams"). Good work. Following. :)

Again, a very astute comment. Haven't had comments like that since I taught university stream

With blanket and book

Nothing like a soft drizzle with the window open and a good book in hand.

Amen to that, my friend :)

no tea?? whaaat?

Haha, if there is tea involved it is mint tea. :)

Yes, I have mint tea. I usually drink that in the evenings. The Mr only drinks one kind of tea and that is Barry's Tea and I have to order it from the UK. Picky?? Well.... :)

Haha, well, he probably would respond that he picked you and knows what he likes. ;)

lol....has he used that phrase with you? He likes what he likes?

Lol, no, but the two of us think alike. ;)

I know....it's scary.

Gotta have a nice cup of tea or perhaps a mug of hot chocolate with the book curled up in a comfy chair. And don't forget the warm woollen throw...

yes! We just bought two new ones and we're in for a wind storm tonight. Just went out and battened down the hatches :)

How do you do, im from Asia.

Good post a good post I like it I've upvote and reestem I will always wait for your next posting

Fantastic poem.i like your poem and upvoted.

O is is my favourite type of weather - beautifully described

something about stormy weather :)

o yes - storming at the moment here. Lovely spring rain - makes me so happy

Yes drizzle. Reminds me of my childhood

enough rain not to go out, but enough rain to ponder its beauty :)

Perfect for setting the mood to get cozy. Looks like it might just be that type of day here. Love this. :)

yes, sometimes it's all about the mood :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60318.52
ETH 2983.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78