A Dagger of the Mind

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

creepy-2807555_1920.jpg



You're an illusion


a vapour in my brain

I created you

and gave you a name.


You're not real, damn it,

despite what I think

when I dream at night

or have a drink.


You are there

To creak the stair

to move the curtains

with a gust of air.


You conjure memories

that frighten me

and then retreat

to the safety of dreams.


I hate you--you're dead,

but you don't care

you refuse you leave

and only stare.


Like Hamlet's Ghost

Back from the grave

have you come to change

mistakes you've made?


Perhaps the times

are out of tune

for you to catch

fresh glimpses of the Moon.


I pray each night

you'll go away,

but my real desire

is that you'll stay.


Yes, I complain

I'm afraid,

and yet I pray

stay, illusion, stay.



© 2017, John J Geddes. All rights reserved


Photo

Sort:  

Is this poem about your alter self? or memories that haunt you?

Well, I am conflicted and haunted - it's all the above mixed up with the characters I create. Yeah, it's a viper's tangle of many anxieties

This one made me hold my breath for a moment... it rings true here. You are a master at capturing a feeling and painting it in verse. :)

Words are lovely! The sad truth of illusion lies still!

Great work as usual. I love reading your poetry.

thanks, Diane

fantastice poem.Thanks for sharing @johnjgeddes. i like your post and upvoted.

I like how the photo relates to the text!

Have a nice day You wrote so beautifully, that started to follow you. Thank you. For your great writing and for sharing

thank you, Mar

This post has received a 17.90 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

Amazing! Thanks for sharing!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Oct 29. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $32.64 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Oct 29 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67657.28
ETH 3498.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70