Unfinished

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)



jesse-bowser-6054.jpg



Now I know what a ghost is. Unfinished business, that's what.
― Salman Rushdie



Faint above the ticking clock
The ceaseless tread of time


The passage of your days
Drawing circles in the rain

And the wind mourns your flight
With a passing distant train

A whistle on the wind,
That slowly fades away.

And all the hope
That never was,

The midnight talks
Of two of us

Pages filled with promise
Return to primal chaos

Your life a non-event
A bright coin lost unspent



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

I do not spend much time in the superficial realm John but this one took me deeper than I usually find myself. I am going to have to sit here for a while to take it all in. Thanks for giving me something to do, I am always looking for meaningful distraction from my frequently troubled mind. Best.

thanks, @dougj34 - my wife and I were just discussing something similar today. Distraction is sometimes the only escape from troublesome thoughts

I love poems and this is a really great poem. I have written poems since I was 12 years old.

thanks, sonya - I appreciate that compliment

Your welcome.

Nicely written. People forget how precious their time is until they don't have any more left. Is that your image as well? Thanks for posting this :)

I felt that! Did you take the photo? It reminds me of a dream...nice work

yes, it is dreamlike, but no, the photo is from Unsplash

Primal chaos.... A bright coin lost unspent ... haunting . Beautiful

Aww.. Love in air " the midnight talks of two of us". Makes me remember those times.

what great writing! Thanks for posting!

I always read your poem.i try to write poem.

Pages filled with promise
Return to primal chaos.

         I like that word

This post has received a 2.40 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60497.39
ETH 2637.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56