You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 30 DAY HAIKU CHALLENGE DAY 15- BRANCHES

in #poetry6 years ago

Ahah! Wonderful! This poem was a pleasure to read. Thank you for writing and sharing. Your craft has improved drastically. I especially like the vivid imagery that you convey, "tangled strings formed to knot."

I have distinct memories of trying to undo knots as a child and how extremely frustrating it was to undo. Perhaps I lacked the patience, perhaps I didn't know how. Either way it was awful dealing with them. My point is that your line evoked this image in my head and I connected with it (perhaps because I'm a part of the same tree :)).

I love the idea in the first line, "Sprung from the same root," and how it connects to the last, "We're linked together." As if there is a connection between the knotted tree roots, or tree limbs. I certainly feel a connection to trees when I'm walking around my neighborhood. Without them it would feel barren, boring, and uncovered. I feel a connection, and you've articulated that well here. Well done!

I also noticed an adherence to the typical haiku form! What?! Awesome! The natural image to begin, and the turn, or the juxtaposition in the final line. You nailed it with the "'we're linked together" line.

I so enjoyed this haiku, and it made me think on multiple levels about the tree, leaves, roots, and connections between things that might not visibly be connected, but may be in a similar sense. Like how every person can be connected to everyone else because we share humanity together. Or something.

Thanks again for continuing this! Keep it up! I look forward to reading more!

Sort:  

Thank you so much @jocelynlily ! Feedbacks like yours make me want to work harder and become better. It was quite easy for me to make a haiku since the photo is a very good subject.
Thank you so much! I really believe we are all linked to one another and we should not see ourselves different from the others. I'm happy you like it. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63850.79
ETH 3415.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46