SteemitPoetryContest #10 - Memory

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

image
Pen on paper, 2017 (edited with Pixlr)


Memory
by Jaundré M. van Breda


A smile grows from a tear
like a decade grows from a year
among the ruins of a smile
while we reap the stars.

A tear grows from a sadness
the world no longer knows,
another December the angels
no longer remember.

'Not all those we bury are dead,'
she said in a voice spilling over me.
'You see,' she whispered reassuringly,
'Everything is exactly as it should be.'


Follow me on Instagram for more poetry and quotes:
https://www.instagram.com/jmvanbreda/

Sort:  

I like the last paragraph.

Thank you.

I have spent a few hours looking through poetry posts and at last I've found a real poem!

I want to read more of your poems, so I will follow - but on Steemit (maybe you don't know it, but many of us came here to get away from the other social medias which are not 'social' and think to dictate by censoring us). Anyway, don't you want to build up your account here, is instagram your first priority?

I can't leave without asking - the sketch in your posts (and in other of your posts) are they by you?

Hi. Thanks for your time. I've been on Instagram a while now, so I feel at home there. I will post regularly on Steemit as well. Some of these drawings and paintings are created by me (those without links). I appreciate your support.☺

Of course you have my support, there are too few good posters, so we need to nurture those with talent (especially if they have more talent than I do).

Have you joined the African community? (It includes many South Africans). I'm not a community guy, but maybe you would like it? They also support each other, which is nice.

I'll check it out. Thank you. I'm also following you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61155.34
ETH 2383.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56