Deep Session

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)


. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
I see the darkness

Coming for me

So I run hard

Run fast

Run for days

Finally, faint I fall
And curl
And wait

Darkness moves

Moves constantly

So I know

If I can hold

Hold on

This too will pass

But that is the question,

How long?

Someone,
Who has never really known this darkness
Told me,
Just pray
As if I hadn't thought of that
Years ago

Chin up,
Eyes up
Look up
Buck up
All good words
That mean nothing in the darkness

The storm arrives

With chaos

Too many

Thoughts to

Straighten

Out

Yet no thoughts at all.

The only advice
Hold on
I grasp a branch and
Won't let go
It's my connection to this earth
To this world
This life

I have been here before
Many times
Too many times
But I have learned

Hold on

Don't let go

The darkness moves

Constantly

And this will pass

The winds weaken

I am weakened

But I have survived

Another storm

It will not be my last

Of this I am certain

With each passing

I do grow stronger

More resolved.

From each session

I emerge

Not as some conqueror,

Some valiant victor

But simply a survivor

Of another deep session….

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
A poem I wrote about a poorly understood condition, depression.
I share it in the hopes that those who struggle with their own personal darkness can know that there are others who understand and in the hopes that they might be encouraged to press through, to hold on. It is also my hope that those who are fortunate enough to not know what it is like to be overwhelmed by such dark storms might be able to briefly glimpse behind the veil.

Written by: Larry Fletch; United States; Contributor väcka

Sort:  

Beautiful this deserves more than just an upvote!!

Congratulations @jlfernz11, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57558.50
ETH 2437.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35