Synthetic Enlightenment

in #poetry7 years ago

Maybe I don’t care which pill you took
Maybe your rhetoric is as bland as your insults
Maybe you only see what you want to see
Maybe the illusions belong to you

Awake, awake, your pill has you dreaming
Strange nightmares of a strange land
I tell you of real battles
But you only sell your pills

Will you seek truth truthfully
Or continue to run fearfully?
For today, like yesterday, you've only sent
Synthetic enlightenment

Maybe your reality ends when the movie's over
Maybe your pill is just a street drug
Well that’s just grand
Maybe I’ll give you a hand:

I hate to snow on your parade
But the movie is for rent
Like your false awakening
Like your elongated childhood
Like your synthetic enlightenment

Sort:  

I guess we all take "pills" from time to time and wake up as well from time to time. It's just life, complex and simple at the same time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53699.14
ETH 2213.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28