SteemitPoetryContest #10 - Learning To Sail

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

night sailing.jpg

Learning to Sail

I saw dolphins swimming at dawn, southbound, warm waters
of the Mexican sea. I yanked on a line and up and up
the forestay sail, sun and wind in my eyes. Past a village of cliff divers,
all the brave are leaping. And I found The North Star

behind a loose cloud. All the while steering, watching wind fill the sails
against the constellations. Dolphins gliding by like phosphorescent ghosts;
the sea, the Milky Way, and me, I ran to the bow, I stood on its ropes with the sea
rushing hard beneath, night inside of me. And again I began at the stern,

starboard, half steering one hundred ten degrees south
and the other half steering somewhere else. Other than the sea
and its sea-dark night. Other than darkness itself,
though perhaps this is closest to where I meant to go.


This is my first contest entry on Steemit ever! Now that I've resolved to be a more engaged member of the community, it seems fitting, and I'm excited to be a part of it. The theme for this week's poetry contest is growth, and though the title of this poem is "Learning to Sail," there is a lot more growth in the poem from than experience than just sailing.


xoxo

Sort:  

nice write up about nature's beauty! thanks for sharing
@jessandthesea

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jessandthesea to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

I just finished watching some people on vacation in Guam and they were watching dolphins swim ahead of their boat. Then I came across this poem.

serendipity? :)))

Great poem. I also checked out your website. Good stuff. 😎

hey, thank you!! That poetry project is a huge focus in my life, so it means a lot.

I love it! Really gets me hankering for a night sail ride. I spent a couple months on a sail boat years ago, I remember the dolphins swimming alongside the boat. What a dream :)

Seriously, getting away from land and sailing on the open water is kind of like a dream. I can't wait to do it again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75