"The Heart of the Matter", "Lines in the Mirror", "My life is like a Mosaic"

in #poetry7 years ago

Rancagua, Chile.jpeg

The heart of the matter, all wrapped in layers of soft,
Enfolding mystery, is the warm and creamy feeling
Of belonging, of being a part of something bigger.
Searching deep within, and you can always find
That connection. Your mind, indoctrinated as
It is from birth will try to deny this, but in
Your heart, you know it is true. We all
Are one, we all are made in a single
Spiritual image, and we share this
Kinship, this world and this life.
If we like it or not, we are one.
One in Spirit, One in life and
One in all our purposes.
Care for each another.
Care for our home.
The Heart of the Matter
Jerry E Smith
©7/31/16

Lines in the mirror.jpeg

A long life, lived in hardship and hard work. Desperation
And privation have left their marks. Deep lines of pain,
Anguish and sorrow etch the face and hands. Yet, I
Sense a feeling of tenderness, of having loved so
Many, that it all was worth it in the end. She’ll
Welcome her fate with open arms, and a glad
Heart, having fulfilled a good life. I wonder
Sometimes, if all we have to look forward
To on this plane, is aged decrepitude,
Why bother going on with the play?
Is it worth it to suffer the ‘slings
And the arrows of outrageous
Fortune?’ Why yes, yes it
Is. Our lives are marked
By the love we leave
Behind, not what
We have done
While we
Lived.
Lines in the Mirror
by
Jerry E Smith
©7/31/16

tiles-1424714_1280.jpg

My life is like a mosaic, a stretched canvas,
Vignettes for each day
A simple little tile for each moment,
A fragment for each fleeting thought.

I would like to be able to see the mosaic,
But I can only see the “Now”
I remember the past with imperfection;
The bigger picture escapes me,
I dream of tomorrow, as through a glass,
Darkly,
But with hope it will not be so.
.•:¨ ¨:•.
"My life is like a Mosaic"
by
Jerry E Smith
©5/25/14

-:¦:--:¦:--:¦:--:¦:--:¦:--:¦:-
Thanks to @scrooger for the dividers

My Logo.jpg

Sort:  

Wow! The first time I see this awesome kind of editing and writing here on Steemit. You are adding to the story by means of editing. Love it!

Why thank you so much @scrooger!
I am humbled and flattered by your comment.
I like to think that I am creating the book page I would like to see one day published.

You are most welcome! Keep it up and work on some more of your posting skills. =)

Not sure what you mean by that @scrooger, but thank you for the support.

Just meant that you are getting better everyday and soon you will master all the editing styles. So far your posts look great and I know they can only get better with time. Keep it up =)

Well then, I thank you for that compliment. Your help has been instrumental in my progress, and I appreciate that as well.

Glad to be helping where I can =)

@scrooger, do you get notifications when I include your handle in my posts? I'm trying to give credit where credit is due.

Used to, Steemit is having some problems with it's nodes. This is being sorted out though, then I should be getting notifications again =)

I"m glad. I will continue tagging you anyway, to show my gratitude.

Thanks @scrooger (I can't believe I didn't upvote or reply before now, my apologies my friend)
New question @scrooger, I just tried to use the 'align picture to the left/right of text' functions.
I had it going great in the preview, but every time I tried to post it, I got "An Image in the post failed to save properly">
When I removed all three of the aligned images, it seemed like it was going to work, but after I'd put all that work into it, and it now appearing like I wanted, I decided to scrub it for now.
Any ideas? I was copy/pasting the things from your page, and inserting my image links in place of what you had.

Even here, it doesn't want to work.

Hey there! Ah, yes, this drove me insane when it happened to me. Here is the fix:

So when you use and image make sure you only use the image link and no other brackets or details.

It should look something like this:

https://steemitimages.com/DQmVYQvYKuRagzFy382Bg4ae2EDVQivi3pbS7W71Le69V7B/Good.png

Not this:

![Good.png](https://steemitimages.com/DQmVYQvYKuRagzFy382Bg4ae2EDVQivi3pbS7W71Le69V7B/Good.png)

Posting it this way while using the align function will fix it.

Excellent! Do you see this @diggerdugg?

Wow, great post! Love the poetry and the pictures!

Thank you so much @rem3600,
I am glad you enjoyed it.

My pleasure :)

These are awesome, Resteemed!

Why thank you dear Michelle ♥, I appreciate your support @michellereneekid

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62249.58
ETH 2435.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67