"The Bridge"

in #poetry7 years ago

Brooklyn Bridge, New York, US-heather-shevlin.jpg


It may be cold.
You may think things are in a dire condition.
You may think you are alone.
But in the end, we are the
"Bridge between moments".
We are connected to each
Other by a bridge that is eons old and
Still strong.
To cross this bridge is simple; just open your
Heart.
Let your fears and insecurities go;
Trust Each Other.
It’s that easy.
Or rather, it’s not that easy.
We never find it easy to drop our barriers;

To trust others.



To trust others, we must lower our defenses,
We must make ourselves weak.
It’s not easy.
To let your shields down means you can be
Hurt. You are vulnerable.
That is never a comfortable feeling.
It is worth it.
We
Are not
Really alone;
We only think so.
It is not so.
We are surrounded at all
Times by potential friends and
Lovers.
Surrounded by those
Who can help us through all
Of life’s troubles and woes.
All we have to do is let
Down our walls so we
Can let them help, or
So that we can help
When it is our turn.
Let down your
Walls, take
Your turn.
~

~
“We are the Bridge”
by
Jerry E Smith
©2/2/17


Sort:  

I can't speak to the optimism or the realism, as I'm in a slightly altered state right now (you should see how many times I am backing up andcorrecting my spelling) but I can say that I appreciate this. You had me at "Bridge between moments".

Kidding aside, I loved this. Trust. At once the most worthwhile and yet the most impossible thing for us to truly do.

Thank you Jon, I appreciate this comment, as it seems the most sincere.
Many many thanks @jonknight

I love this sir, you're optimistic and realistic at the same time👍

Thank you very much @elmanuel, this is the kind of comment I value.

Thanks @jerrytsuseer for useful post

wow.. i just love this sir, you're optimistic and realistic at the same time👌👌👌

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62659.86
ETH 2534.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63