"Like a Boulder"

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)


On a spit of land stands a boulder, resolutely defying the flow.
Flood waters come and go, eroding and pushing, with no
Progress to show. Sometimes, the currents are
Irresistible; the boulder begins to budge.
Remaining steadfastly present, the
Stream now receives a the nudge.
Changing course around it, the
Banks adapting, & becoming
New. When we know that
We are right on the path
We’ve chosen to walk,
There will be flowing
Currents to oppose
Us; like the rock
In the stream,
We remain
Steadfast
And True.

“Like a boulder” by
Jerry E Smith
©7/12/17

My Logo.jpg

Sort:  

I curate #poetry and posts with the tag #onehumanbasket
Find out more in the NEW Poetry Dice Challenge

Oh Cool! I thought, Paul Simon wrote this song. Until now.

"Loves Me Like a Rock" is a song by the American singer-songwriter Paul Simon. It was the second single from his third studio album, There Goes Rhymin' Simon (1973), released on Columbia Records. It features background vocals from the Dixie Hummingbirds, a Southern black gospel group. Although the lyrics are not typically associated with gospel music, the Dixie Hummingbirds were eager to record the song with Simon, and they recorded their own version of the song soon afterward

@robyneggs, do you want me to stop using the #onehumanbasket tag?
You always seem to respond almost like a robot, so I've been wondering. :(

you post a lot is all...I have been subtly laughing along at myself and my own reactions to your poems by inserting dry humor pics...hope you don't mind! :-p
by the way, do you think I should simply upvote and resteem without commenting....is it getting redundant? guess we are getting redundant lol. I try and mix it up with some emoji...xoxox

I would have thought you would know more about the ins and outs of Steemit more than I. Do you get points for comments on your posts? I thought so, I know I've gotten 'badges' for stuff like that.
If there are no 'points' for commenting, then yes, a simple upvote would be fine with me. ♥

Pretty sure comments help out a post, but I will keep them more discreet :-) Cheers! XO

That was new; I had a choice of how much value to add to my upvote:

Hi @robyneggs, I don't care if you post those things about curating or not, I was just curious, to me it made you seem like a robot. ♥

yup xo highly doubt bots use emojis though LMAO

This is deep

§ ☺ so it is @blodbandit, so it is ♥ §

Hey there Alf, great to see you here @lundsten, going to go check out your profile and follow. Thanks for commenting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60171.52
ETH 2421.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46