The Knocking Hands of Angel Death

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

Tell No Tales
Sometimes I find that when angels are trying to speak to me
They don't see
That even though I know that heaven is holding a place for me
I can't see
Through the tears that are falling
From eyes that are calling
Out heresy
Don't look at me like that
I'll sit in my room full of memories soon enough
Waiting for closure
Or maybe just answers
I won't believe
I can hear heavy footfalls that echo through thin walls
They come for me
Though I can't see them
I hear them just fine
Those skeletal fingers that reach out from black sleeves adjusting their grip on the world
So when he comes a-knocking
And we get to talking
We won't talk long
He's heard this song before
The one full of why
That starts out coherent but ends up in silence
Drowned dead in a
Pool of confusion
Filled up from those socketless eyes
Gazing down from on high
Raining tears from a well that won't ever run dry
I don't know how I know this and I won't try
To tell you that I'm not afraid
Though my debt's been paid
I'm still begging for change
On the streets of this city that once seemed so pretty to me

Sort:  

Amazing, Dark, Brave and Beautiful

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63161.84
ETH 3061.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97