Sweet Lila (Poetry)

in #poetry7 years ago

Sweet Lila

As raindrops whispered in the glen
He held her love within his ken
Sweet Lila with her flaming hair
And skin like silk with face so fair
Her cobweb wings all filled with light
Cocooned his heart with sheer delight

In bowers green they sought embrace
With kisses soft their lips did trace
Enchanted curves in passion’s nest
He laid his head upon her breast
And swore if she would with him stay
His love for her would never stray

Sweet Lila’s gaze held single tear
She held her lover ever near
With sorrow thus she rent his heart
And told him then that they must part
For never could it come to pass
To mate a man with faerie lass

She pressed her lips upon his brow
And murmured, I’ll love only thou
Now go my love and do not pine
As surely my heart lives with thine
Your pain endured will soon subside
And life again will you abide

Thus saddened he did then depart
From his sweet Lila, soul and heart
To live such months with empty thought
Though maidens hied, he’d not be caught
Because his heart was captured sore
By one he’d love forever more

The summer days come ‘round again
And find him wand’ring through the glen
He searches ancient paths for she
In wounded heart, on bended knee
Though never shall he find his love
For she has flown to worlds above

© J C Edwards

Image from Google Images Labelled Free for Reuse

Sort:  

A beautiful romantic poem with the feel of centuries-old lore. It has that twilight magical feel. I love it!

Thank you so much; what a lovely comment! I'm delighted you enjoyed this poem, as I thoroughly enjoyed writing it. xox

Lovely as always, reminiscent of Tolkien. Very nice.

What a lovely compliment, thank you! :)

This is so romantic. Makes me wish I was in love lol. really enjoy the rhyme schemes

Thank you so much - your support is appreciated. :)

The poem reminds me of poetry from ages past. You've really captured the essence of that long-ago time. Well done!

Thank you so much for your lovely comment! It's good to know that I've succeeded in capturing the feeling I was trying to convey - thank you for seeing that.

It actually reminded me of the Fairy Glen - Up the airy mountain, down the fairy glen, we dare not go a-hunting, for fear of little men.

Oooh, I haven't heard of that! Do you have a link to it that I could read?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63459.73
ETH 2599.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78