For Valentine's Day - Ballad of Love (Poetry)

in #poetry6 years ago

Ballad of Love

giphy.gif

Feed me not berries and cream, my dear
Though delightful they melt on my tongue
Let me drink from the love in your eyes
Till the strings of my heart come undone

More precious than rubies and pearls, or
The diamond that sits on my finger
Is the fire you ignite within, on
My skin where your caresses linger

My limbs are aflame with the wanting
I would feed from your virile delight
As we soar from the heavens to seas
While we dance in the starlight tonight

And my mind is awhirl with your scent
Sweet exaltation met in your smile
When our bodies are sate from desire
Let me rest in your arms here awhile

So speak from your soul those endearments
Beloved words my heart longs to hear
But only if your lips speak truly
And they say you’ll forever be near

More treasured than orchids and roses
Is the love that you give from your heart
For it’s where I know I am cherished
When you vow, not ‘till death do us part

We’ll sup then on berries and cream, dear
For delightful they’ll melt on our tongue
While we drink from the love in our eyes
And the strings of our hearts become one

© J C Edwards

Photo from Google Images Labelled Free for Reuse

Sort:  

A splendid poem for the day!

Thank you so much! Wishing you and the good lady a wonderful Valentine's Day!

Thank you! Happy Valentine's Day! xox

I really like the rhythm of this =) ... You've obviously had a lot of practice in writing poetry. (The ones I'm posting are all quite old now - it would be interesting for me to try write one again now...)

I've been writing poetry since I was a child; and studied it in college as well. I'm 62 next month, so it has been many, many years indeed!

LOL, thanks so much for the compliment, @miryana! xox

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75